Mogwai are a Scottish post-rock band, formed in 1995 in Glasgow. The name comes from the film Gremlins and means ghost in Chinese. It has no significant meaning. Stuart Braithwaite and Dominic Aitchison first met at a Ned’s Atomic Dustbin gig when they were 15, and four years after that, the band was formed and Martin Bulloch joined as the drummer. They played a gig or two before John Cummings was added to the ranks. A while after that, before the recording of Mogwai Young Team, a temporary member with the name of Brendan O’Hare (ex-Teenage Fanclub, Macrocosmica) joined for the duration of the album before parting ways. It wasn’t until the recording of Come On Die Young that Barry Burns joined as a permanent member and that’s been the same since 1998. The band’s 2001 album Rock Action gave them their highest album chart placing, reaching number 23.

The band provided the soundtrack to the film Zidane: A 21st Century Portrait and also collaborated with Clint Mansell on the soundtrack to The Fountain in 2006.[7] Mogwai are also featured in the 2009 post-rock documentary Introspective.The band’s 2008 Batcat EP featured a collaboration with Roky Erickson, with Erickson providing vocals on “Devil Rides”.

In January 2010 the band auctioned off several items including the piano used by Burns during their 2006-2007 world tour in aid of the 2010 Haiti earthquake appeal.The band also donated an exclusive track to the PEACE project in April 2010 in support of Amnesty International.

In May 2012 the band will headline and curate one day of the three-day All Tomorrow’s Parties ‘I’ll Be Your Mirror’ festival at Alexandra Palace, London.